Catanduanes is an island province of the Philippines located in the Bicol Region of Luzon. It is the 12th largest Island in the Philippines. Its capital is Virac and the province lies to the east of Camarines Sur across Maqueda Channel. As of the 2010 census, the population of the province is 246,300 people.[2] The island province was among the 42 provinces in the country listed as “Peaceful and Ready for Development” last year 2014. The province consists of the Catanduanes Island (also called Virac Island), the Panay Island, Palumbanes group of Islands (Palumbanes, Porongpong, and Calabagio) and a few other minor surrounding islets. Catanduanes was a former sub-province of Ambos Camarines in the early 1900s and later of Albay. It gained provincial autonomy when Congressman Francisco Perfecto filled House Bill No. 301 which separated the province from Albay. It was approved on September 26, 1945 and subsequently signed into law by President Osmenia on October 24, 1945.


Places to Visit in Catanduanes
Batalay Shrine
Bato Catholic Church
Bolongbong Falls
Kosta Alcantara
Luyang Cave
Maribina Falls
Nahulugan Falls
Our Lady of Sorrow
Solong Falls
The Virac Cathedral

Leave a comment