Philippine Republic Day commemorates the official recognition of Philippine independence by the United States of America, and the inauguration of Manuel Roxas as the first president of the 3rd Republic of the Philippines. It also celebrates Philippine-American relations, and falls on the same day as American Independence Day.

July 4 was celebrated as Philippine Independence Day until 1962. Diosdado Macapagal by virtue of Proclamation No. 28 dated May 12, 1962, moved the holiday to June 12 in order to commemorate the date of General Emilio Aguinaldo’s proclamation of Philippine independence from Spain in 1898. Macapagal’s Proclamation was enacted into law by the Congress of the Philippines on August 4, 1964, by virtue of Republic Act No. 4166, which established July 4 as Republic Day to commemorate the foundation of the modern Republic of the Philippines, which gained international recognition on that day, 65 years ago.


Back to Philippine Holidays